The College of Physicians and Surgeons of Newfoundland and Labrador regulates the practice of medicine in the public interest.

It is governed by a 14 member Council, which includes the Registrar, a fully-licensed medical practitioner, who is an ex-officio member, appointed by the Council.

Of the remaining 13 members, seven are licensed medical practitioners elected by their peers and six are appointed by the Minister of Health and Community Services. Two of the six are nominated by the Newfoundland and Labrador Medical Association. Of the remaining four appointed by the minister, three are not medical practitioners and one is appointed from a list submitted by the Board of Regents of Memorial University. The Memorial University nominated appointee may or may not be a medical practitioner.

The College fulfills its mission by:

  • Setting qualifications for registration and licensure;
  • Conducting a rigorous licensing process;
  • Investigating complaints; 
  • Conducting disciplinary hearings;
  • Setting standards for ethical, professional behaviour; 
  • Setting standards for medical practice through by-laws, policies, guidelines and advisories; 
  • Promoting continued competence through re-validation and peer review; 
  • Registering professional medical corporations (PMCs); and, 
  • Maintaining registers of licensed physicians.